Alex Waterman (Ed.) 


Published by Miguel Abreu Gallery
Co-edited and designed by Will Holder
Softback 11 ½ x 9 inches , 95pp.

With contributions by Robert Ashley, Alex Waterman, Bruce Andrews, John Law, Charles Curtis, Elaine Radigue, Christian Wolff, The Brothers Grimm, Herbert Read, Frances Strak, James Saunders, Cornelius Cardew, Ludwig Wittgenstein, Will Holder, Alvin Lucier, Chris Mann and others.

Agapē, was published in conjunction with the exhibition of the same name that took place at Miguel Abreu Gallery June 3 – July 28, 2007. The exhibition showcased experimental music scores with an accompanying concert series that addressed aspects of the social acts of translation and collective interpretation in musical performance. The show featured a sequence of scores marking the evolution of notation in music, spanning from Anna Magdalena Bach’s unaccompanied cello suites to Trios WHITE ON WHITE by Robert Ashley (1963). Throughout the two-month event, each score appeared on the gallery walls and was performed in a series of scheduled concerts.

The performances engaged the task of reading in relation to the various acts of writing, composing, translating, and committing works to memory. The aural tradition and story-telling were explored in addition to issues pertaining to editing, copying, and the transmission / performance of scores and written words. 


June 3 - July 28, 2007
Miguel Abreu Gallery